Pastoral Care

The School places considerable emphasis on the care of its pupils.

There is a well-established and effective pastoral care structure with most staff having the opportunity to be form tutors.

The general academic progress and all matters of pastoral care are, in the first instance, the concern of the Form Tutor who consults with or refers boys to the Head/Assistant Head of Junior School (Years 7 to 9), Head/Assistant Head of Middle School (Years 10 and 11), the Head /Assistant Heads of Sixth Form (Years 12 and 13) or the Assistant Headteacher as occasion demands. Contact details for the Pastoral Team can be found below.

Mrs H Simms Assistant Head (Inclusion & Progress) hsimms@ermysteds.n-yorks.sch.uk
Mr A Jackson Head of Year 7 ajackson@ermysteds.n-yorks.sch.uk
Mr D Justice Head of KS3 djustice@ermysteds.n-yorks.sch.uk
Mr S J King Head of KS4 sjking@ermysteds.n-yorks.sch.uk
Mr A Marsden Head of Sixth Form amarsden@ermysteds.n-yorks.sch.uk
Mrs P Bradley Assistant Head of KS3 pbradley@ermysteds.n-yorks.sch.uk
Mrs N Rose Assistant Head of KS4 nrose@ermysteds.n-yorks.sch.uk
Dr C Merrell Assistant Head of Sixth Form cmerrall@ermysteds.n-yorks.sch.uk
Mrs H Adamson Assistant Head of Sixth Form hadamson@ermysteds.n-yorks.sch.uk

If you wish to contact a Head or Assistant Head of Faculty, contact details can be found here.

In Years 7 to 9, forms are arranged randomly having no reference to academic ability and this general principle remains throughout the School.

Sixth Formers are under the pastoral guidance of a tutor, who will oversee their progression through the normal two years of Sixth Form study. Tutor groups are, wherever possible, determined by subject choices.